Gallery

Forget the Sanitizers! Get Your Child a Dog!

The Wall Street Journal posted an article that backed up my opinion that more people need to adopt a dog. They cited research from Finland that stated:

Babies who lived in households with dogs were healthier and had fewer ear infections than babies without a dog in the home, according to a study in Pediatrics by Finnish researchers.

Sorry cat people, the studies with cats didn’t show that the link was as strong!

Even studies coming out of the National Institute of Health found the same conclusions:

Children raised in a house with two or more dogs or cats during the first year of life may be less likely to develop allergic diseases as compared with children raised without pets, according to a study in the August 28 issue of the Journal of the American Medical Association. The study was supported by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS).

I grew up with cats and dogs galore, and I continue to have them in my home. I didn’t get allergies until later in life, but my allergies are more seasonal, so I can be around animals with no problem. However, today’s parents are turning their children into sneeze buckets with swollen and itchy eyes by over-protecting them from so-called bad germs. Hand sanitizers are everywhere! Not that we shouldn’t practice good hygiene, but I think our society has overdone it. Now we’re creating superbugs all over the place, because we’re afraid of a few germs!

Hey! When I was little, I ate dirt if it smelled good. I  played in the gutter if water was running. I once accidentally rolled into some freshly laid dog poop too. That wasn’t fun, but I’m still alive to tell the story! What is funny is that I come from a family of germophobes. While growing up, I learned how to navigate public spaces without touching anything. I was encouraged not to touch door handles or escalator handrails, because you never know where people put their hands. I was encouraged not to walk barefoot. I might step in spit or dog pee. Yes, people are gross and men spit everywhere, but we don’t live in bubbles where we need to keep ourselves hermetically sealed from everything.

In fact, I live life on the edge. I keep things exciting and adventurous at all times. How? I sleep with dogs. I love my furkidz, and I wouldn’t have it any other way, so when someone tells me they are allergic to dogs, I know they had a deprived childhood. When someone tells me their child is allergic to dogs, I know they are depriving their child of the kind of love only a dog can give. Not only that, they are depriving their child of a strong immune system. So for all of you who need science to back things up, here it is!

Get a dog!

Leave a Reply

